“Gathering of Finches” by Jane Kirkpatrick

“Gathering of Finches” by Jane Kirkpatrick is a historical novel published by Waterbrook Press. Cassie Hendrick Stearns is the main character and the novel revolves around her life and decisions.  Beginning with the 1899 Oregon coastal tidewater crossing and ending again in Oregon, Cassie is challenged by others wishes for her.  She marries young following the untimely death of her father to save her mother and sister from poverty.  Her husband, Josiah Stearns, moves the family to Washington where he was working in the timber industry.

The family dynamics in this novel are complex.  Cassie tries to please others with her decisions.  But later becomes selfish and indulges herself with not thinking of others when making choices, even when others are significantly affected.

While I enjoy historical fiction and am familiar with the Oregon/ Washington setting of the book, I found it difficult to read.  Much of the book is musings of Cassie’s and her tangled thoughts.  She second guesses her decisions and disregards the feelings of others. I felt that I persevered and finished the book, hoping the end would make it worth it.  But I was sadly disappointed. 

I received this book from the Paperback Swap from credits I earned sending others books.  All opinions expressed are my own.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Book review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment