Frugal tips #3 Learn a craft

I have come from a long line of ladies who did incredibly beautiful hand work.  My grandmother Husband made embroidered everything table clothes, napkins, pillow cases, dish towels, samplers, handkerchiefs, etc.  And my Grandmother Vasquez was known for her weaving, spinning, knitting and crocheting.  My mother makes wonderful quilts and porcelain dolls.  As a child I was exposed to all these hand crafts and tried each one with varying degrees of success.  I did enjoy sewing and know my way around a pattern and sewing machine.

While I was pregnant with my first child I sewed a lot!  I made baby blankets, sleepers, and some of my maternity clothes.  But after she was born, the sewing machine was idle.  As the kids got a little older, the girls have all had some sewing  experience especially through 4-H, and Hannah is a wonderful seamstress and quilter.  Now that my  life is not so busy I have uncovered the sewing machine and am attempting to sew again.  Mostly crafts this time.  And I think I may try to learn some easy quilting techniques.

But knitting and crocheting has always alluded me.  During Christmas break I asked Bethany to help me learn to crochet.  She is an incredible knitter, but I thought crocheting might be easier.  I was looking for something easy to take along to kids activities to keep my hands busy.  All during our Christmas travels I crocheted, and while I did not make anything recognizable, I think I did pick up on the basics.  My crochet hook was still in the car when the girls took it back to college, so I have been without my new project.  But I found another last night and some left over yarn.  I decided to see if I could still do it, on my own.  And I think it worked.  I am attempting to make a square dish cloth, and so far so good.

How is learning a craft thrifty?  Many crafts do not have expensive equipment or materials, although there are expensive things you can buy for most crafts.  And it is fun to learn something new.  The by-product of doing crafts is the finished project.  This may be a quilt to keep you warm or give as a gift.  I feel better knowing that I have done a little something productive with my waiting time.  Time is money, and I am using it well.

What crafts do you enjoy?

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Home life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

