Baking bread the easy way

I love to cook and bake, but making yeast breads has always intimidated me.  I am a busy mom of 4 kids and while I am not employed outside of the home, I am not able to spend as much time being at home as I would like due to kids’ activities and volunteer committments.  So making bread is difficult because it requires so much tending.  Recipies require rising, punching down, rising, molding, rising, etc. at regular intervals. 

I have discovered a way to have home made bread without all those steps.  It involves a refigerated bread dough that requires only 1 rising and baking.  So far we have enjoyed the results and have not really had a failure. 

http://www.motherearthnews.com/Real-Food/Artisan-Bread-In-Five-Minutes-A-Day.aspx

Mother Earth news has a great article on the 5 minute a day bread method I have been using.  I had started adding 1 cup of freshly ground wheat flour to the recipe and love the results.  It gives the bread a firm and nutty flavor without compromising the rising or baking time.

The first time I tried baking the bread our house was pretty cool, so it took a long time to rise.  But yesterday with the wood stove going, it was just according to the recipe.  So for dinner we had fresh hot bread and chili- made in the crock pot earlier in the day.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Frugal living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

