Finally cooked the turkey

Almost 2 weeks ago I told you that I was planning to cook the extra turkey I purchased at Thanksgiving.  Well, yesterday I finally did.  That turkey had been renting a whole shelf in my refrigerator for almost 2 weeks! 

I really had planned to cook it last Saturday, but after 6 days of thawing it was still pretty frozen.  So, back into the refrigerator.  Then we got busy with numerous 4-H activities and I did not have the block of time needed to cook, cool, and process the turkey for several more days.  Wednesday afternoon brought several inches of snow and all activities were cancelled for Thursday, so I knew this was my chance.

Thursday morning I got up, made blueberry and raspberry muffins for my family and when they came out of the over the turkey went in. 

Cooking a turkey is really very simple, just remove all the guts and extras that may be stuffed in the body cavity of the bird, place on a roasting pan and bake.  Since I plan to use the meat in various recipes I did not season the bird.  The house smelled wonderful!  From about 10:00 AM on the kids kept wandering through the kitchen asking when it would be finished.

A little after 12:00 the internal temperature was over 165F, so I removed it from the oven.  After letting it cool a bit, Aaron claimed one of the legs for lunch.  I removed the rest of the meat and packaged in about 3 cup portions in freezer bags.  After these cooled in the refrigerator for several hours I moved to the freezer.

Now I can have all those great meals that I had planned for this week using the cooked turkey.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Frugal living, Home life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

