Managing your budget #9- Playing the Drug Store Game

While I generally like to shop at the store that consistently has the lowest prices, playing the drug store game is an exception to that rule.

I had worked on how to shop at drug stores for the maximum benefit, and I found a video that a fellow blogger made.  She explains it very well.  So check it out:

Southern Savers CVS shopping video

  • Advantages:  Playing the CVS game is kinda fun for me.  It is a bit of a game each week to see what I can get for just a little bit of $.  I have been able to purchase some more expensive brands of personal care items than previously.  While I am not totally convinced that the more expensive brand are better, they are just as good and a bit more fun.  With 4 teenagers, we use a lot of shampoo, deodorant, body wash, etc.  And this is the place that I do practice stock piling.  I purchase whatever is a good deal that week and add it to the bathroom box.  So when I run out of toothpaste, I just go to the box and get more.  This is especially helpful with the kids because they do not tell me before they run out of stuff. I also have plenty to share.
  • Disadvantages:  It can be frustrating if the deal does not work the way it looks like it should on paper.  And it is easy to get carried away and have 20 tubes of toothpaste that no one in the house will use.  You can be tempted to purchase items that you don’t use because it is “free”.
About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Frugal living, Home life, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Managing your budget #9- Playing the Drug Store Game

  1. Laura Adair says:

    I’m really interested in the CVS free bucks! I’m definitely going to check that out when I return to TN. Thanks for the info, Dee! I’m also going to make a batch of home-made laundry detergent. I love saving $$$$$$!

  2. Pingback: Brand loyalty and Frugality series #1 | Dee's Farm and Family

  3. Pingback: Cleaning with small jobs- day 4 | Dee's Farm and Family

Leave a Reply

