Wal-Mart price match attempt

The Wal-Mart price match commercials have caught my eye as I am stocking up on school supplies, so when Office Max was out of the index cards I needed, I decided to take my ad to Walmart and pick some up there.  Well, it was not as easy as on TV.  I picked up the index cards and only got 5 packages as there was a limit in the ad.  The clerk said that they do not do price matches on internet printed ads.  I told her that while I had printed it on the internet, the store had the same ads.  After a bit of discussion with several other employees, she did accept the coupon and matched the price.  I was able to get 5 packs of 100 count index cards for $.10 each, great price.  I only need about 2K more.  Thankfully they are priced pretty good at Big Lots, so next time a get a 20% off coupon I will stock up.

Last week a wonderful reader suggested Stapes which was running index cards for $.01 in her area.  I was ready!!!  unfortunately, it was a regional deal and not in my region.  Thanks for sharing, though.  We all can work together to get the most bang for our bucks.

So, what is your experience with price matching at Wal-Mart and other stores?  After my recent trip, I am not too eager to try again.  I will probably just go to the store with the sale.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Frugal living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

