Easy winter dinner idea

Winter has finally arrived here and we even had some snow yesterday.  The high temp today was not above freezing.  But inside we are warm and cozy with our wood stove. 
Again I am thankful to my husband and son for all their work this summer cutting wood.

The best way for me to make dinner is to prepare it in the morning, so the afternoon is free.  Today I had many things to do in the morning, so finally about 9:00 I got dinner in the crock pot.  I made vegetable soup.  I found several recipes and just combined them using what I had on hand.  It cooked all day and was wonderful when we were ready for dinner. 

 I had planned to make biscuits to go with the soup, but I remembered I had cranberries in the freezer, so I made cranberry muffins instead.  Everyone seamed to like it because by the time I was cleaning up the kitchen, there was just 1 bowl of soap left.

The cold temps are the perfect time to pull out the crock pot and make something yummy for dinner.  Frugal hint:  use an inexpensive cut of meat because cooking at a low temperature with some moisture will make this meat very tender.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Frugal living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

