Chores: Why don’t we enjoy cleaning?

Cleaning house is just not one of the activities I enjoy very much.  Laundry I don’t mind much, probably because I can come and go through out the day moving clothes from basket to washer; washer to dryer; dryer to baskets; and repeat and repeat…

But cleaning, that is not something I like to do.  The big things get done on a fairly regular basis:  vacuuming, sweeping and moping, cleaning bathrooms and kitchen counters.  But it the smaller jobs that I put off way to long:  vacuuming the stairs, cleaning the ceiling fans, sweeping the laundry room, dusting the banisters, dusting baseboard, etc.  In some cases I do not want to start a job, like dusting ceiling fans because we have 9 of them! And we have 2 stair cases with carpeted stairs…

But lately, I have forced myself to do at least one of these dreaded chores each day and am surprised how quickly I can accomplish the task.  I spent SO much time procrastinating the job when in reality, I could get it done in just a few minutes.

I am going to try to tackle one nagging job each morning and perhaps another in the afternoon, if it is not a busy day.  And hopefully by the time I get them all done it won’t be time to start again.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Farm life, Frugal living, Home life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

