Chai Banana Bread- recipe

Chai Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/3 cup masked ripe banana (about 3)
  • 8 oz yogurt, plain or vanilla
  • 5 T butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t ginger
  • 1/2 t ground allspice
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1 t vanilla

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 355 degrees.

2. Combine first 4 ingredients in a bowl and mix well.  Add sugars and vanilla  mix until blended.

3. Combine dry ingredients and add to banana mixture, beat until blended. 

4. Pour into greased 9×5 loaf pan.  Bake 350 degrees for 1 hour. 

I found this recipe in a magazine on Sunday  morning.  In our 4-year-old SS class we were cutting out pictures of our favorite foods, and while helping the children find pictures of food, I found this.  I did adapt it a bit, but the recipe above is what I actually made, except that I doubled it.  I think the kids liked it, because one whole loaf was gone before it even had cooled.  I did use peach yogurt, because that is all we had.  Worked fine.  I think this may be our new favorite banana bread recipe.  Let me know what you think.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in recipies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

