Quilts for Kids- Volunteer opportunity

quilts for kids 002I started learning to quilt with the Craftsy free block of the month project in early 2012. I kept up for several months, but became frustrated with one technique and got behind, really behind. But I did learn enough to start making some blocks and quilts on my own. With the help of my daughter and mother (3 generations) I was able to successfully complete several quilts that I gave as gifts, donated and entered in 4 county fairs- won a couple of ribbons there.

One day when looking for some applique patterns I ran across Quilts for Kids. This non-profit groups takes fabric that has been donated, cuts and sends out to quilters who make them into adorable quilts for kids in the hospital. It looked easy enough, so I ordered 2 kits. The fabric is provided at no cost, I had to pay the shipping $7 for 2 quilts. I was able to piece the top in about 2 hours, although I was not really watching the clock. The directions were clear and simple, great for this beginning quilter. All I have left is to machine quilt and bind, then send back. I did have to provide the batting, but this is a minimal cost.
quilts for kids 003

If you are looking for a hands-on project that you can do on your own time with most of the supplies provided, check out Quilts for Kids. I know each of my kids had their “special blanket” and the times that one was admitted to the hospital, their blanket went with them. I count it a privilege to be able to make a special blanket for a child who is ill. I sewed a little hug in each one.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Farm life, Home life, Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

