The Book of Esther

“The Book of Esther” by Emily Barton, book review

Esther is a commonly known Biblical character, and her story is an inspiration to many women.  Her story of being used by God to save her entire people group from evil.  The author uses this theme but has the setting during WWII in Europe.  It is a compelling setting, with very interesting parallels to the Biblical account.

I have a very difficult time following the characters because of the names and places being foreign to me and hard to keep straight in my mind.  I easily lost focus and had to re-read pages.  While I have had this trouble before, I can usually get a handle on it within a chapter or 2, but with this book, even after 4 chapters, I was still confused with the characters.

With that being said, this is a well written book with DEEP character development- probably a little too deep for me.  This is a book that takes concentration to follow the story line, rather than a light summer reading type of book.

Disclaimer:  I received a copy of this book from the publisher.  All opinions expressed are my own.

About dwolters

mama to 4 wonderful kids. live on a farm and raise sheep
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

